Lambs v BC Wales XV Rugby (17)
Representative Rugby

ISRFC Lambs: U18s and U16s name sides for midweek Lambs fixtures

26th February 2018
Share this article

The ISRFC Lambs return to action this week with midweek fixtures for both the U18s and the U16s.


The U18s are in action against Northampton Saints at Northampton BBOB RFC on Tuesday evening, while the U16s head to Sixways on Thursday evening to take on Worcester Warriors.


Having both lost out to Boys Club of Wales last time out, in contrasting manners, the Lambs will be desperate to secure success this week in what are likely to be tough weather conditions. As Lambs National Director Alex Laybourne alluded to ahead of the games:


“This week will show us a lot about the character of our squads and their ability to stick to the fast and free philosophy. They need to show learning has taken place and bounce back from a tough weekend against the Boys Club of Wales; which I am confident they will do.”


“The academies always pose a different challenge to our sides and the players will need to be committed to playing an exciting and confident brand of Rugby to overcome the challenge in front of them. As always, it is another great experience for all of those involved and I am sure they will rise to the occasions”


The U18s are once again co-captained by Bedford fly half Alfie Orchard and Felsted number 8 William Barker.

Lambs v BC Wales XV Rugby (8)

Inside Orchard is Wisbech Grammar School’s Jack Trundley, and his schoolmate Oliver Mann makes up the centre partnership alongside Stamford’s Byron Van Uden. The back three, meanwhile, consists of Stockport Grammar’s William Kay, Darren Ali-Scott of Queen Ethelburga’s, and St Peter’s York’s Charles Hudson at full back.


Up front Barker is supported by King’s Macclesfield’s Owen Jones and Cheltenham College’s Aiden Ali in the back row, with Framlingham College’s Toby Risebrow alongside another Wisbech Grammar man in Bradley Hutler in the front row. Rugby’s Sam Wright joins Shiplake College’s Oliver Brown and Millfield’s Henry Massey in the front row.


The U16s have an all King’s College Taunton second row of James White and Hoe Messenger, and there are a pair of Uppingham pupils in toe front row in Henry Langford and Carlson White, Tonbridge’s Barnes Darlington is at loosehead.


The back row, meanwhile, sees St John’s Leatherhead’s Sam Smedley at eight, with Stephen Bonnett of Pangbourne College and Ayo Onabolu of Trinity on the flanks.

Lambs v BC Wales XV Rugby (12)

Bonnett’s schoolmate Ollie Andrews-Hirons is at outside half, with New Hall’s Toby Warren his half back partner. Berkhamsted’s Harvey Graham and Millfield’s Dylan Evans are the centre pairing, with Chrucher’s College’s Benjamin Kay and Marcus Marchant of Dulwich College on the wings. Hugo Cordeschi of Tonbridge is at full back.


ISRFC Lambs U18 XV v Northampton Saints (Tuesday 27th February, Northampton BBOB RFC, 7.30pm):

15 Charles Hudson (St Peter’s, York), 14 Darren Ali-Scott (Queen Ethelburga’s), 13 Oliver Mann (Wisbech GS), 12 Byron Van Uden (Stamford), 11 William Kay (Stockport GS), 10 Alfie Orchard (Bedford, co-captain), 9 Jack Trundley (Wisbech GS), 1 Sam Wright (Rugby), 2 Oliver Brown (Shiplake College), 3 Henry Massey (Millfield), 4 Bradley Hutler (Wisbech GS), 5 Toby Risebrow (Framlingham College), 6 Owen Jones (King’s Macclesfield), 7 Aiden Ali (Cheltenham College), 8 William Barker (Felsted, co-captain).

Repalcements: 16 Joe Martin (Portsmouth GS), 17 Didi Vidal-Adegun (Bishop’s Stortford College), 18 Oliver Perkins (Berkhamsted), 19 Tyler Tomlinson (Felsted), 20 Beau Roberts (Reed’s), 21 Alex Liley (St Peter’s, York), 22 Tom Watson (Framlingham College), 23 Piers Martin (Felsted).


ISRFC Lambs U16 XV v Worcester Warriors (Thursday 1st March, Sixways, 7.30pm):

15 Hugo Cordeschi (Tonbridge), 14 Marcus Marchant (Dulwich College), 13 Dylan Evans (Millfield), 12 Harvey Graham (Berkhamsted), 11 Benjamin Kay (Churcher’s College), 10 Ollie Andrews-Hirons (Pangbourne College), 9 Toby Warren (New Hall), 1 Barnes Darlington (Tonbridge), 2 Henry Langford (Uppingham), 3 Carlson White (Uppingham), 4 Joe Messenger (King’s College, Taunton), 5 James White (King’s College, Taunton), 6 Ayo Onabolu (Trinity), 7 Stephen Bonnett (Pangbourne College), 8 Sam Smedley (St John’s, Leatherhead).

Replacements: 16 Will Rees-Young (Tonbridge), 17 Tristan Smith (Felsted), 18 Patrick Noroozi (The Perse), 19 Kodie Holloway (Framlingham College), 20 Luc Bowkley (Tonbridge), 21 Will Shankland (Harrow), 22 Louis Aylwin (Haileybury), 23 Solomon Boon (King’s Ely), 24 Maxime Findlay (New Hall).


Images via Jim Laybourne