Representative Rugby

Aon U18 International Series: Wales & South Africa team news

10th August 2018
Share this article

Wales and South Africa Schools have named their sides for their opening game of the Aon U18 International Series.


Kicking off in Boland Landbou at 3pm (BST), the game follows the conclusion of the series opener, England v France. The four teams travel on to Stellenberg on Tuesday where Wales face England and South Africa host France, before concluding at SACS on Saturday 18th August when South Africa host England and Wales take on France.


Friday afternoon’s game is available on the S4C website and Facebook page, as are all of Wales’ game, and the Welsh have certainly picking an exciting team for the game.


Coleg Gwents Robert Brookson captains the side at blindside flanker, with Sir Gar’s Jac Morgan at openside and Cymoedd’s Ioan Davies at number 8.


Another Sir Gar man, Jac Price, is in the second row alongside Glantaf’s Teddy Williams. In total there are four Sir Gar players in the side, with Cameron Lewis at hooker and Joe Roberts at outside centre. Either side of Lewis are Cymoedd’s Garyn Phillips and Newport High’s Luke Yendle.


There is plenty of excitement in the half back positions, with the excellent Oakham fly half Sam Costelow starting with Dragons’ Dan Babos, who has already played regional and U20 rugby, at scrum half.


Gwynllyw’s Aneurin Owen partners Roberts in midfield, while in the back row there are two more English based players, Clifton College’s Ioan Lloyd at full back and Hartpury College’s Louis Rees-Zammit on the left wing. Coleg Gwent’s Ewan Rosser completes the line up on the right wing.


There are a further four English based players on the bench, Marlborough College’s Archie Griffin, Sedbergh’s Carwyn Tuipulotu, Bromsgrove’s Morgan French, and Bryanston’s Ellis Bevan.


Speaking ahead of the game Wales U18 Head Coach Chris Horsman said:


“The South Africans are going to test us physically and mentally, we told the players they’re going to have to go to a place they haven’t been to before. We know the type of rugby South Africa play: they’re very big and physical up front, with a lot of pace and skill out wide. It’ll certainly be a challenge, but that’s what we’re hoping for because this is what the U18 programme is all about.”


Wales U18 XV:

15 Ioan Lloyd (Clifton College/Bristol/Exiles)

14 Ewan Rosser (Coleg Gwent/Dragons)

13 Joe Roberts (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets)

12 Aneurin Owen (Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw/Dragons)

11 Louis Rees-Zammit (Hartpury College/Exiles)

10 Sam Costelow (Oakham/Exiles)

9 Dan Babos (Dragons Academy/Dragons)

1 Garyn Phillips (Coleg y Cymoedd/Cardiff Blues)

2 Cameron Lewis (Coleg Sir Gar/Ospreys)

3 Luke Yendle (Newport High/Dragons)

4 Teddy Williams (Ysgol Glantaf/Cardiff Blues)

5 Jac Price (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets)

6 Robert Brookson (Coleg Gwent/Dragons, captain)

7 Jac Morgan (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets)

8 Ioan Davies (Coleg y Cymoedd/Cardiff Blues)

Replacements: 16 Llew Phillips-Taylor (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets), 17 Callum Williams (Maes y Gwendraeth/Scarlets), 18 Ben Warren (Coleg y Cymoedd/Cardiff Blues), 19 Archie Griffin (Marlborough College/Exiles), 20 Carwyn Tuipulotu (Sedbergh/Scarlets), 21 Olly White (Llandovery College/RGC), 22 Morgan French (Bromsgrove/Worcester), 23 Ellis Bevan (Bryanston/Exiles), 24 Evan Lloyd (Coleg Gwent/Dragons), 25 Harri Doel (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets), 26 Morgan Richards (Newport High/Dragons), 27 Osian Knott (Coleg Sir Gar/Scarlets).


South Africa Schools XV:

15 Rynhardt Jonker (Sharks/Glenwood)

14 Lwandile Menze (Sharks/Durban High)

13 Muzilikazi Manyike (Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions/Jeppe Boys High, captain)

12 Mnombo Zwelindaba (Build-it Border/Selborne College)

11 Stravino Jacobs (DHL Western Province/Paarl Gymnasium)

10 Juan Mostert (DHL Western Province/Paul Roos Gymnasium)

9 Thomas Bursey (Build-it Border/Selborne College)

1 Dewald Donald (Ultimate Aim Blue Bulls/Affies)

2 Jean-Jacques Kotze (DHL Western Province/Paul Roos Gymnasium)

3 Herman Agenbag (Free State/Grey College)

4 Sibusiso Sangweni (Sharks/Kearsney College)

5 Emile van Heerden (DHL Western Province XV/Paarl Boys High)

6 Keketso Morabe (Thepa Trading Griffons/Welkom Gimnasium)

7 Mihlali Mgolodela (DHL Western Province/Rondebosch Boys High)

8 Celimpilo Gumede (Sharks/Durban HS)

Replacements (from):

Forwards: Jacques Goosen (Build-it Border/Selborne College), Thabiso Mdletshe (Sharks/Durban HS), Hanru Jacobs (DHL Western Province/Paul Roos Gymnasium), Lunga Ncube (Sharks/Glenwood), Uzile Tele (Build-it Border/Hudson Park HS), Adrian Alberts (DHL Western Province/Paarl Boys High), Tristan Dullisear (Bidvest Waltons Golden Lions/Monument), Jarrod Taylor (Build-it Border/Selborne College), Evan Roos (DHL Western Province/Paarl Boys High), De Wet Marais (Free State/Grey College).

Backs: Jurich Claasens (Ultimate Aim Blue Bulls/Garsfontein), Brendan Venter (DHL Western Province/Paul Roos Gymnasium), Wyclef Vlitoor (Free State/Grey College), Sibabalwe Xamlashe (Build-it Border/Selborne College), Darren Hendricks (DHL Western Province/Boland Landbou).


Aon U18 International Series Fixtures (all KOs BST):


Friday 10th August – Boland Landbou

England v France – 1.15pm

South Africa Schools v Wales – 3pm


Tuesday 14th August – Stellenberg

England v Wales – 1.15pm

South Africa Schools v France – 3pm


Saturday 18th August – SACS

France v Wales – 11.15am

South Africa Schools v England – 1.05pm