School Rugby

2018 Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s: Girls & Girls AASE Draws – Amman Valley & Hartpury College aim to continue dominance

11th January 2018
Share this article

This year a further four Girls teams are added, up to 32 from last year’s 28 as the tournament continues to grow, while the AASE tournament looks as strong as ever.


2017 Girls Champions Amman Valley are in Group A alongside Epsom College and two newcomers, Richard Hale and Wellington College, who bring considerable Rosslyn Park pedigree across from the boys side.


Group B includes Pangbourne College and Christ’s Hospital who both competed last year, and introduces Gordon’s and Colston’s, one of the most famous rugby schools in the country.


Over in Group C Peter Symonds’, Simon Langton, and Welbeck all join proceedings, with St John’s Leatherhead returning following last year’s competition.


Group D sees plenty of returning faces, including last year’s semi finalists Sir Thomas Picton. Also returning are Oundle Reigate Grammar School, and Wisbech Grammar School.


In Group E Haileybury and Clifton College both return and will fancy their chances of a good run, Graveney and Benenden are newcomers hoping for a big start.


Over in Group F Welsh giants Llandovery College will be big contenders, while Exeter College will hope to do well and return to the AASE competition down the line. Sir William Borlase’s and Stowe complete a strong group.


Group G contains Pembrokeshire College and a returning Caterham, alongside Giggleswick and Perins, another strong looking group. Meanwhile Group H contains last year’s losing finalists Blundell’s, who will surely be desperate to go one better, as well as two strongWelsh sides in Bryn Tawe and Y Strade, and the returning KES Stratford.


Over in the Girls AASE competition, there are eight sides split into two groups of four, though one side is yet to be confirmed.


Group A sees perennial reigning champions Hartpury College top the billing, where there are joined by Bishop Burton College, Loughborough College, and the Swedish U18 side, always a fascinating opponent.


Group B hosts last year’s runners up, SGS Filton College, and there are joined by Worthing College and NPTC Group, with one further opponent yet to be confirmed. The top two from each group will progress to the semi finals.


Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s Previews


U18 Cup

U18 Vase



Juniors & Prep Draws


Girls Draw


Group A Group B Group C Group D
Amman Valley Christ’s Hospital Peter Symonds’ College Oundle
Epsom College Colston’s Simon Langton Grammar School Reigate GS
Richard Hale Gordon’s St John’s, Leatherhead Wisbech GS
Wellington College Pangbourne College Welbeck Ysgol Sir Thomas Picton


Group E Group F Group G Group H
Benenden Exeter College Pembrokeshire College Blundell’s
Clifton College Llandovery College Giggleswick KES, Stratford
Graveney Sir William Borlase’s Caterham Ysgol Gyfun Bryn Tawe
Haileybury Stowe Perins Ysgol Gyfun Y Strade


Girls AASE Draw


Group A Group B
Bishop Burton College SGS Filton College
Hartpury College Worthing College
Loughborough College NPTC Group
Sweden TBA